South Wagga Public School

ACHIEVE WITH PRIDE ~ Respectful Responsible Connected

Telephone02 6921 2947

About our school

South Wagga is medium size primary school in the one of the largest regional centres in New South Wales - the heart of the Riverina.  South Wagga Public School is situated on the south side of Wagga Wagga on the main railway line from Sydney to Melbourne. South Wagga was Wagga's third public school, the Newtown Public School in Edward Street, which became South Wagga Public School, was officially opened in January 1892.  

South Wagga Public School has a proud history of educating children for over 130 years, providing students with every opportunity to become confident and successful learners. The school has an enrolment of approximately 250 students.

Our school is highly regarded in our local community as a school of excellence. The school has a blend of beginning and experienced staff, dedicated to providing the students with exceptional inclusive educational experiences. Extra curricula activities support the curriculum; these include choir, chess, environmental education, Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics, public speaking, dedicated drama and dance groups and a coding club. The students participate in a variety of sports and have excelled with the school winning a number of state titles and students being selected to represent the Riverina and NSW PSSA. Individual student development occurs in an environment that allows all students to engage and achieve across all facets of schooling and are known, valued and cared for.

A dedicated and committed staff has been successful in developing independent student work habits, self discipline, tolerance and respect for cultural diversity.

At South Wagga Public School, we aspire to successfully 'Achieve with Pride' by being respectful, responsible and connected in our interactions with others and our learning.